To top

Can You Guys Please Critique My Ocean Painting?

Post your art here! Discussion and critiques of user-submitted artwork.
MorganCerese
Substantial poster

Can You Guys Please Critique My Ocean Painting?

Postby MorganCerese » Fri Jun 03, 2011 7:04 pm

Hi everyone! I just uploaded a new piece called "Lost At Sea" and I would really appreciate if some of you can critique it. I love constructive criticism because I know it helps me get better. :D

For those who didn't see my introduction in some of the threads here, my name is Morgan. I'm 16 years old and I'm a graduating senior (June 9th feels so close!). I started drawing about two years ago (self taught until this year) and I just started learning how to paint with watercolor and acrylic in art class.

This was done with acrylic paint on an 8"x10" canvas. It's my first time actually painting on canvas. In class we usually do it on a heavier paper since my school cant afford canvas. I decided to just buy some canvas on sale at Michaels :mrgreen:
Attachments
photo (4) - Copy.JPG
alanminshull
Extreme poster

Re: Can You Guys Please Critique My Ocean Painting?

Postby alanminshull » Sat Jun 04, 2011 1:57 am

Hi Morgan:)
What does it feel like to you starting out in watercolors and acrylics? It must be a new adventure and your mind must be working overtime now with ideas ha ha :) I hope the classes are going well, but on to your sea scape.
Well, all the basic elements are there Morgan, the colors, the distance (perspective) and a feeling of space. Im not quite sure what kind of style if any (realism, impressionist) you are going for yet or you enjoy painting, but I guess here you are trying for impressionism, which is your idea of the sea through your own eyes rather than as close to the picture or scene that you are painting.