To top

Fluid Acrylic---- Going with the Flow

Post and view comments about the art in the galleries and art in general.
Dapore
Substantial poster

Fluid Acrylic---- Going with the Flow

Postby Dapore » Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:04 pm

Floral Fantasy 45
24x24 inches
Wet into wet, working into a very wet base. Started the painting with a bit of a game plan and just went with the flow. Some semi dry brushing. A palette knife was used to produce the flowers and linage. Carving into the semi wet paint at the bottom of the painting with the knife. A few spots of light washes where applied over the dry painting.

I am a self taught artist, I have used the terminology as best as I understand it to describe my approach.
Please note that with this very wet application of paint the over use of water will weaken the adhesion or permanence of the acrylics. For this reason three coats of mat varnish where applied with a spray gun.
Thank you,
Theo Dapore
Attachments
ff45-25.jpg
ff45-25.jpg (70.29 KiB) Viewed 2344 times
Last edited by Dapore on Thu May 07, 2009 1:02 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Evie
Extreme poster

Re: Fluid Acrylic---- Going with the Flow

Postby Evie » Tue Apr 07, 2009 6:32 am

Really nice piece - this technique obviously suits you :) I'm self-taught too and use mostly acrylics, which do dry fast - so I might try it out! Those flowers look like butterflies about to take flight.
Dapore
Substantial poster

Postby Dapore » Tue Apr 07, 2009 7:07 am

Evie wrote:Really nice piece - this technique obviously suits you :) I'm self-taught too and use mostly acrylics, which do dry fast - so I might try it out! Those flowers look like butterflies about to take flight.

Hello Evie, Have you tried using a spray bottle of water to mist over your painting as you work? This will help slow the speed in which the acrylics dry.
Evie
Extreme poster

Postby Evie » Tue Apr 07, 2009 7:37 am