To top

What is "Art" in the 21st Century

Post and view comments about the art in the galleries and art in general.
jeremygrizzle
Substantial poster

What is "Art" in the 21st Century

Postby jeremygrizzle » Wed May 30, 2007 8:19 am

:arrow: I am an art teacher. From time to time, I am asked by students and parents about art in the 21st Century. In my opinion, and what I tell them, art is now multi-media driven. Sure, we can paint, sculpt, or develop...but true "Art" or for that matter "NEW" art has to be hybrid or multimedia.....any thoughts?
Jeremy Grizzle
Artist/Art Teacher, Believer, Blues Musician
andy tetlow
Extreme poster

new kids on the block

Postby andy tetlow » Wed May 30, 2007 8:50 am

i sometimes think that its the simplicity of the way multi-media is available.A lot of kids have access in some form or another to a computer and with some of the programmes they have now, well, its amazing what you can do. dont get me wrong, im not saying that they are any less talented or gifted, most of the digital/multimedia material on this web site are great examples(i scratch my head in wonder sometimes), its just time moves on and how great is it not having brushes to clean! :D
andy tetlow
"I would walk a hundred miles to punch a camel on the nose" -Pedro Gonzalez, cousin of Speedy

http://andytetlow.blogspot.com/
http://www.reverbnation.com/sumit
otiredroc
Substantial poster

my opinion

Postby otiredroc » Wed May 30, 2007 9:44 am

I would like to give my opinion about your question...

I believe that the ART is variety, new diversity, freedom of thought, new ideas and average to pronounce itself...

I believe that the multimedia of a new tool, that in the suitable hands is like the clay, in the hands of the craftsman.
The used means (PC, photoshop, painting on canvas, sculpture, etc) do not make the art.

I believe that Art not only one, because this would leave by it go to others... in the past was wanted to unify the opinions,; but that already is history.